[Poster Submission]  [Tutorials]  [Conference Program] [Registration]  [Dinner]  [Accommodation]  [Travel & local info]

Local organising committee: Bruno van Swinderen (chair), Leonie Kirszenblat, Michael Troup, Kathy Asmussen, Abbey Nydam and Chase Sherwell

Scientific program committee: Olivia Carter (chair), Sid Kouider, David Chalmers, Nao Tsuchiya, Qiufang Fu, Melanie Boly, Tobias Schlicht, Steve Fleming, Derek Arnold and Ross Cunnington

Date: July 16th-19th 2014  




Keynote speakers:

  • David Chalmers (Australian National University and New York University) 
  • Emery Brown (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
  • Sheng He (University of Minnesota)
  • Melanie Wilke (University Medical Centre Goettingen)
  • Jesse Prinz (City University of New York)

Symposium Speakers:

  • David Carmel (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Joel Pearson (The University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • Zoltan Dienes (University of Sussex, UK)
  • Axel Cleeremans (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)
  • Adam Shriver (The University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Victorial Braithwaite (Pennsylvania State University, USA)  
  • Dan Weary (The University of British Columbia, Canada)
  • David Edelman (Bennington College, USA)
  • Paula Droege (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Aaron Schurger (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Marcello Massimini (The University of Milan, Italy)
  • Jacobo Sitt (L'Institut du Cerveau et de la Moelle Épinière, France)
  • Anil Seth (University of Sussex, UK)
  • Chiara Cirelli (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
  • Francesca Siclari (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
  • Michael Czisch (Max Planck Institute of Psychiatry, Germany)
  • Thomas Metzinger (Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz; Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies, Germany)
  • Jennifer Windt (Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz, Germany)

Tutorial & Short-Course Presenters:

  • Giulio Tononi (University of Wisconsin, USA)
  • Christof Koch (Allen Institute for Brain Science)
  • Naotsugu Tsuchiya (Monash University, Australia)
  • Masafumi Oizumi (Riken Brain Science Institute, Japan)
  • Larissa Albantakis (University of Wisconsin, USA)
  • Claude Touzet (Aix-Marseille University, France)
  • Colin Hales (The University of Melbourne, Australia)
  • Andreas Keller (The Rockerfeller University, USA)




















Located on a lush subtropical setting on a bend in the Brisbane River, the University of Queensland is an easy ferry ride from downtown Brisbane, the state capital. July (the Australian winter) is the best season to visit tropical north Queensland and the Great Barrier Reef. The main conference will be held in the Advanced Engineering Building (AEB), which was constructed in 2013.  It is uniquely designed to achieve harmony with the natural environment, reducing energy consumption and attaining certified 5 Star Green ratings.   It houses the  state-of-the-art GHD Auditorium, a 500-seat lecture theatre built in an earthy, timber style with beautiful lake views.




   [Poster Submission]  [Tutorials]  [Draft Conference Program] [Registration]  [Dinner]  [Accommodation]  [Travel & local info]


Note that a week following the ASSC conference the international conference on cognitive neuroscience (ICON) will be held in Brisbane from July 27th-31st.  In addition to the conference there are likely to be a number workshops and satellite events that will be of interest to some of you. Check the website for details